Yajiao’s Blog

Log-Individual project

Posted on: 10/05/2010

My individual project is a blog about Chinese students in the UK. We can see Chinese students everywhere in the campus of UK’s universities, and it is said Chinese has become a financial support of UK’s education industry. However, the argument about Chinese overseas students come from rich family but do not good at studying has been discussed in China for several years. A large amount of people think that only students who cannot get into a good university in China, their parents will spend lots of money to send them abroad, where students can apply for universities easily. Most reports of overseas students from Chinese newspapers and websites are negative. Before I made the decision to study abroad, I also misunderstood about overseas students. However, when I actually become one of this special community’s members, I want to build a platform to present a more balanced image of Chinese overseas students.

In addition, though there are certain misunderstandings about overseas students in China’s society, lots of Chinese students still want to apply for universities in the UK and receive an advanced higher education. Many people consulted me about life in the UK, therefore, I hope this blog could help those who are going to come to get some basic ideas about studying abroad.

For this blog, I set up five main categories. In education category, I pointed out the difficulties that Chinese students may meet for studying. In fact, with the rigorous academic atmosphere and traditions, Chinese students have to make more efforts to get a degree. In life category, I wrote stories about the lifestyle of different groups of Chinese students. There are two extreme groups of Chinese students. Some try to take advantage of the time when they studying in the UK and do some meaningful things, while others just want to enjoy a luxury life without parents’ control. In career section, as many overseas returnees cannot find a job or just get a job with very low salary, I analysed the advantages and disadvantages of working in the UK and China, respectively. In eat category, I recommended some Chinese restaurants. Although there are a lot of Chinese restaurants in Chinatown, most of them are providing Cantonese cuisine. Therefore, I selected the most popular restaurants in different flavours. In addition, I made a series of video interviews with Chinese students, in order to reflect their opinions about studying in the UK directly. But one interview was taken in a restaurant, so the background was noisy.

Because wordpress is blocked in China’s Internet, I copied some of my articles to another English blog in China, to generate opinions about studying in the UK from students in China. The link is under Get involved in the sidebar. Meanwhile, I set up a Facebook group for Chinese students to discuss the current issues happened in the UK. I uploaded pictures in Flickr to share scenery of the UK with my readers. I also linked some useful websites for Chinese students to get all kinds of information in the UK in the sidebar. I promoted my blog on Facebook, MSN, Chinese social networking sites to get more Chinese students to share their stories. People like to leave comments if they share the common experiences reflected in the blog. However, one problem is that most Chinese students still prefer to read Chinese blog and communicate with Chinese, therefore, the number of my readers is still limited.

Moreover, some parts in the blog can be improved further to make it better. Firstly, the stories may be presented in a better way. I still found difficult to write stories in English. Sometimes I got ideas, but didn’t know how to write it in a proper English style. Although Chinese students may understand the content, it still needs to be more professional. Secondly, the form of my video interviews is quite normal, just like asking and answering. I am thinking the video may be more interesting if I can get some footage of Chinese students’ real life in the UK, such as the environment of their apartment, how they cook dinner, where they buy stuff, etc, like a documentary.

Leave a Reply

